Our Approach

Our Approach

We are delighted to announce we have been awarded The Curiosity Approach accreditation in recognition for providing beautiful play spaces and learning opportunities for children.

This is a modern day Approach that fits perfectly in current changing technological times. The Curiosity Approach is a beautiful recipie of many great educational pioneers and philosophies. Steiner, Malaguzzi, Montessori & the new Zealand curriculum, Te Whariki.

We believe that modern day education systems, needs to change & move away from bright primary colour decor. To environments that use open ended, recycled materials & eclectic authentic resources.

Play spaces that value and respect the miracles that enter through our doors.

Reverance for the children.

Creating play spaces that encourage curiosity, awe & wonder.

Bringing magic back to childhood.

 Visit The Curiosity Approach on Facebook for more information:

Facebook logo More about the Curiosity Approach
Curiosity Approach logo Curiosity Magazine


 The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is the curriculum for children from birth to 5 years old. It sets out:

  • The legal welfare requirements that everyone registered to look after children must follow to keep your child safe and promote their welfare
  • The 7 areas of learning and development which guide professionals’ engagement with your child’s play and activities as they learn new skills and knowledge
  • Assessments that will tell you about your child’s progress through the EYFS
  • Expected levels that your child should reach at age 5, usually the end of the reception year; these expectations are called the “Early Learning Goals (ELGs).

Learning through play

Being active and playing supports young children’s learning and development through doing and talking. This is how children learn to think about and understand the world around them. We use the EYFS statutory guidance on education programmes to plan and provide opportunities which will help children to make progress in all areas of learning. This programme is made up of a mixture of activities that children plan and organise for themselves and activities planned and led by practitioners

Children start to learn about the world around them from the moment they are born. The care and education offered by our nursery helps children to continue to do this by providing all of the children with interesting activities that are appropriate for their age and stage of development.

The areas of learning and development comprise of 3 prime areas first.

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Making relationships;
  • Self-confidence and self-awareness;
  • Managing feelings and behavior.

Communication and Language

  • Listening and attention;
  • Understanding; and
  • Speaking

Physical Development

  • Moving and Handling
  • Health and Self-Care

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas.


  • Reading
  • Writing


  • Numbers
  • Shape, Space and Measure

Understanding the World

  • People and Communities
  • The World
  • Technology

Expressive Arts and Design

  • Exploring media and materials
  • Being Imaginative

Characteristics of effective learning

We understand that all children engage with other people and their environment through the characteristics of effective learning that are described in the Early Years Foundation Stage as:

We aim to provide for the characteristics of effective learning by observing how a child is learning and being clear about what we can do and provide in order to support each child to remain an effective and motivated learner.

To learn more please download our Parents Guide to the EYFS